Review: Where Am I Now? by Mara Wilson

review
Review: Where Am I Now? by Mara WilsonWhere Am I Now? by Mara Wilson
Amazon|Goodreads
|The Book Depository
Rating:
Pages: 259
Published by Penguin Books on September 13th 2016
Genres: Biography

For readers of Lena Dunham, Allie Brosh and Roxane Gay, this funny, poignant, daringly honest collection of personal essays introduces Mara Wilson—the former child actress best known for her starring roles in Matilda and Mrs. Doubtfire—as a brilliant new chronicler of the experience that is growing up young and female.   Mara Wilson has always felt a little young and a little out of place: as the only child on a film set full of adults, the first daughter in a house full of boys, the sole clinically depressed member of the cheerleading squad, a valley girl in New York and a neurotic in California, and one of the few former child actors who has never been in jail or rehab. Tackling everything from how she first learned about sex on the set of Melrose Place, to losing her mother at a young age, to getting her first kiss (or was it kisses?) on a celebrity canoe trip, to not being “cute” enough to make it in Hollywood, these essays tell the story of one young woman’s journey from accidental fame to relative (but happy) obscurity. But they also illuminate a universal struggle: learning to accept yourself, and figuring out who you are and where you belong. Exquisitely crafted, revelatory, and full of the crack comic timing that has made Mara Wilson a sought-after live storyteller and Twitter star, Where Am I Now? introduces a witty, perceptive, and refreshingly candid new literary voice.

 

Another collection of stories from actress Mara Wilson, detailing her life in entertainment and her life after entertainment. She takes us through her child actor days and to what happened after she left the media. We learn what it means to grow up under the scrutiny of the media and the public eye, and how that affected her own perception of herself.

Wilson is a great story teller and a very good writer. I enjoyed (most) of her stories, some read quickly and others I had to sludge my way through. All in all, a good read for fans of Wilson and interested in a peak behind the curtain of former child actors.

Previous Story
Next Story

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply
    2017: January Round-Up - The Artemis Reader
    February 2, 2017 at 6:14 pm

    […] Where Am I Now? by Mara Wilson […]

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: