Preview: Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Preview: Lore by Alexandra BrackenLore by Alexandra Bracken
Amazon|The Book Depository
Rating:
Pages: 480
on January 5, 2021
Genres: Mythology

From the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds comes a sweepingly ambitious, high-octane tale of power, destiny, love and redemption.
Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family's sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt's promises of eternal glory. For years she's pushed away any thought of revenge against the man--now a god--responsible for their deaths.
Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods.
The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore's decision to bind her fate to Athena's and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost--and still may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees.



I have a weird thing where I usually don’t read previews of books. I prefer to gobble up what I’m interested in ASAP! But I guess the time is now to make exceptions for Alexandra Bracken’s Lore. The six chapter preview is now available to all on NetGalley.

“You can gain immortality by becoming a god, but you can also gain it through glory. Kleos is the honor that comes from becoming a legend—someone others keep alive through stories and songs. Your body can die, but your name will live forever.”

I was drawn to this book for many reasons, the least of which is seemingly different take on aspects of Greek mythology: what if Greek gods could become human? Fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus and Trials of Apollo will not be disappointed with Bracken’s Lore.  

Thousands of years ago, nine gods – Athena, Artemis, Poseidon, Dionysus, Apollo, Hermes, Aphrodite, Hephaestus, and Ares – staged a rebellion against Zeus. As punishment, every seven years they become mortal and are hunted. If they’re killed by a hunter, they lose their immortality. The hunters are descendants from famous Greek heroes – Perseus, Kadmos, Achilles, Herakles, etc, hoping for a shot at immortality. It’s a never ending game for all involved.

Six chapters was a perfect peak into Lore. The characters and scene are quickly set. I felt immediately comfortable in this world, with the characters, and the trajectory of the plot. Lore is the last member of the House of Perseus. She’s turned her back on the game years ago and is still reeling from the death of Iris, her pseudo-grandmother only six months prior. She steps in the ring and fights to cope. Then her deceased best friend shows up wanting to play a game, and the severely injured Athena shows up on her stoop, Lore is drawn right back into the action. Lore binds herself to Athena who promises to help her kill the man-god who murdered her family.

This is my first time reading Bracken, and I found her writing style really wonderful. I loved the descriptions of New York, the underground fighting ring, and the characters. I really enjoyed all the characters thus far, and I can’t wait to see where this story goes! Will be adding to my to be read list for 2021.

Thank you NetGalley and Disney Publishing Worldwide for this chapter sampler.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.